How to Register an Arkansas LLC
Ready to start an Arkansas LLC? In order to officially create an LLC in Arkansas, you’ll need to submit the Certificate of Organization for Limited Liability Company and pay the $50 filing fee to the Arkansas Secretary of State.
Forming your business with the state means your personal information will become public record, which ultimately means less privacy for you. If you’d rather keep your information private, don’t worry! Signing up for our Arkansas LLC Formation Service means we’ll help maintain your privacy by listing our business information instead of yours.
What’s included in our Arkansas LLC Formation Service
Unlike a lot of our competitors, we’re actually located in Arkansas. This means our team understands the process of forming and maintaining an Arkansas LLC backward and forward. Plus, our LLC Formation Service also includes:
- 2 day LLC formation
- Free operating agreement template
- A full year of Arkansas registered agent service
- Arkansas annual report reminders
- A secure online account to store important business forms
- Zero hidden fees
- Lifetime client support
- Option to add fictitious name (DBA) service to your LLC for $125 plus state fees after completing your purchase. Just add “Trade Name Service” inside your client portal.
Here’s Where Your Money Goes
Many Arkansas business formation services hide what they charge instead of showing exactly what you get for your money. But we believe in transparency at Arkansas Registered Agent, and we’ll never blindside you with hidden fees.
|Arkansas State Filing Fees||$45|
|Our LLC Formation Service Fee||$100|
|One Year Registered Agent Service||$49|
If you’re ready to form your Arkansas LLC, we’d love to help you. If you’d rather get your hands dirty and do it yourself, we’re still here to help. Keep reading to learn how to form an Arkansas LLC by yourself.
“If you need an LLC in Arkansas, ARA is the best. Great service, and great attention to detail.” Wesley B., Google Review
Form an Arkansas LLC
Although we’d love to form your Arkansas LLC for you, we know some folks would rather take the DIY approach. If that’s you, just complete the following tasks to form your LLC in the Natural State:
- Name your Arkansas LLC
- Find a Registered Agent for your Arkansas LLC
- Get an EIN for your Arkansas LLC
- File your Arkansas LLC’s Certificate of Organization
- Write an Arkansas LLC Operating Agreement
If this seems like a lot, don’t worry! We’ll break everything down for you.
1. Name your Arkansas LLC
The first step is to name your Arkansas LLC. Unfortunately, naming your business isn’t as easy as it may seem. You’ll need to make sure that the name you choose follows Arkansas’s naming guidelines. State law (A.C.A. § 4-38-112) lists the name requirements for LLCs. Permitted names in Arkansas must:
- include the phrase “limited liability company,” “limited company,” or an abbreviation like “LLC” or “LC.”
- be distinguishable from every other business name on record with the Secretary of State (this includes names that have been reserved with the Secretary of State’s office).
- not include the name of a person who is not a member of your LLC (unless they were formerly a member or a member of a predecessor organization).
- not include any words that imply the company is a different entity type, like “Corp,” or “PLLC.”
Once you’ve chosen a name, you can check to see if it’s available by using the Arkansas Secretary of State’s entity search.
Can I reserve a name for my Arkansas LLC?
Absolutely! The Arkansas Secretary of State allows you to reserve a name for your business for up to 120 days. You just need to file an Application for Reservation of Entity Name and pay the $25 filing fee.
2. Find a Registered Agent for your Arkansas LLC
Arkansas law (A.C.A. § 4-20-105) requires LLCs to appoint an Arkansas registered agent. A registered agent can be a person or a company located in Arkansas, and they must be available during business hours to accept service of process and other legal mail on your behalf. It is your registered agent’s responsibility to forward you these important documents as soon as they are delivered.
Arkansas law allows you to appoint yourself as your company’s registered agent, but keep in mind that designating yourself means you’ll need to be available at the same address all year during regular business hours. Hiring a commercial registered agent means you have the freedom to run your business without having to be present in the same place day after day. For just $49 a year, you’ll maintain your freedom and get lifetime access to our team of experts. It’s truly a no-brainer.
3. Get an EIN for your Arkansas LLC
Your Arkansas LLC will need to register for an Employer Identification Number (EIN), also known as a Federal Tax Identification Number. This number will identify your business when filing business tax returns to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Arkansas requires your LLC’s EIN on your Certificate of Organization, so make sure you’ve applied with the IRS before you file your Arkansas LLC’s formation documents.
You can get an EIN by submitting the Application for Employer Identification Number (Form SS-4) to the IRS. The application is free, and you can file it online, over the phone, by fax, or through the mail. If you hire us, we can get you an EIN for as low as $50!
4. File your Arkansas LLC’s Certificate of Organization
If you’re ready to officially form your LLC, the next step is to file a Certificate of Organization for Limited Liability Company with the Arkansas Secretary of State. To complete the form, you’ll need to include the following:
- The name of your LLC
- The address of your LLC’s principle office of business
- The name and address of your registered agent
- The name and title of at least one member or manager
- Authorized signature(s) of your LLC’s organizers
- Your Franchise Tax contact information (so that the Secretary of State can send you the Annual Franchise Tax Report form)
- Date your business will begin to officially operate (online only)
- The names and addresses of your company’s officers (online only)
- Your contact information (online only)
It costs $45 to file a Certificate of Organization online, or $50 to submit it in person or through the mail. If you choose to mail in your form, you can send it to:
Secretary of State
1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72201
How long does it take to get an Arkansas LLC?
If you file your Certificate of Organization online, processing will take 2-3 business days, but if you submit your filing by mail it may take up to 4 weeks to get your LLC.
How much does it cost to start an Arkansas LLC?
It costs $50 to file a Certificate of Organization in person or by mail. If you file online, the fee is a little cheaper at $45.
What happens if I don’t file a Certificate of Organization for my Arkansas LLC?
You can still operate a business if you choose not to file a Certificate of Organization with the state, but you will not be operating an LLC. Instead you’ll be considered a sole-proprietor or, if you’re working with partners, a general partnership.
Neither of these types of businesses come with any liability protection, so if someone sues your business, they’re suing you. Forming an Arkansas LLC with the Secretary of State means separating your personal assets from the business’s assets.
5. Write an Arkansas LLC Operating Agreement
Arkansas does not require LLCs to create an operating agreement, but it’s still a good idea. An operating agreement is an internal document that establishes the rules for company operations, like the company’s management structure, how to distribute profits and losses, and how to dissolve the LLC. Plus, most banks require an operating agreement in order to open a business bank account.
If you’re unsure where to start when it comes to creating your own operating agreement, our LLC formation service includes a free, structure-specific operating agreement template for your single-member or multi-member LLC.
How is an Arkansas LLC taxed?
All LLCs are taxed as pass-through entities. Rather than taxing the LLC itself, the company’s income “passes through” to its members, who then report it as income on their personal tax returns and pay the 15.3% federal self-employment tax rate. In Arkansas, all LLCs are also required to pay a $150 state Franchise Tax every year.
Will my Arkansas LLC have to file a BOI report?
Most likely, yes. Although there are some exemptions, most LLCs formed on or after January 1, 2024 must file a Beneficial Ownership Information (BOI) report within 30 days of formation to the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). However, in order to give business owners time to acquaint themselves with this new mandatory federal filing, an exception is in place only for companies formed in 2024: FinCEN will accept BOI filings up to 90 days after company formation. LLCs formed prior to 2024 may file their initial report at any time from January 1 – December 31, 2024.
BOI reports are mandated through the Corporate Transparency Act to combat financial crimes in the US and require businesses to report company and individual owner details. Company information required on the report includes the full legal name, any trade or DBA names, current address, formation jurisdiction, and tax ID. Individual information is required of beneficial owners and company applicants, and includes their full name, date of birth, residential address, and copy of an identifying document with a unique ID number (e.g. driver’s license).
- Beneficial owner: anyone who controls the company directly or indirectly. This includes those who own at least 25% of the company and people in powerful positions like CEOs or board members.
- Company applicant: the person who filed to form or register the company, and if different, the person who directed the filing to be made. (not required on reports for businesses formed before 2024)
These reports are free to file and reported information is not public.
Rather have our experienced filers handle this for you correctly and discretely? Just add BOI Report Filing ($9) when you hire us.
When is the Arkansas Annual Franchise Report due?
Arkansas LLCs are required to turn in an annual Franchise Tax Report. This report is due by May 1st each year and costs $150 to file. Forget to file on time? You’ll be charged a $25 late fee and an extra 10% interest every year you fail to file until your late fee grows to twice as much as the original fee.
Do I need a business license for my Arkansas LLC?
The state of Arkansas does not have a general business license, but more than likely your business will need a license or permit to operate. Make sure you check in with your local town or municipality about what licenses or permits might be needed. If your business is a part of a professional industry that is regulated by a state licensing board (like dentistry or law), you’ll need to submit an application for a license in order to legally operate.
Should I open a business bank account for my Arkansas LLC?
Opening a separate bank account for your business is another way to you can better protect your limited liability. In the case of a lawsuit, separating your money from the business’s money is a good way to prove that you and your business are separate financial entities.
Most banks will require your Certificate of Organization, operating agreement, and EIN in order to open a business bank account. It’s also more than likely that you’ll need a business bank account to accept credit card payments.
Do I need a domain name for my business?
You don’t need an online presence to do business, but let’s be honest—being online is one of the best ways to reach customers directly. Even if you aren’t planning on creating a website soon, it’s a good idea to look for and purchase a domain name that matches the name of your business, just in case someone else takes it before you’re ready to publish your website.
Does my business need a fictitious name (DBA)?
Lots of Arkansas companies operate under a trade name (also called a DBA) because it opens up possibilities for branding and franchising. If you’re interested in registering a trade name, select our Trade Name Service inside your account after you sign up for our business formation service. We will register your company’s trade name for $150.
Our Arkansas LLC Service
Our Arkansas LLC Formation Package is the best deal in the state! Many Arkansas formation services hide what they charge instead of showing exactly what you get for your money, but at Arkansas Registered Agent we believe in transparency. We don’t rely on gimmicks and we’ll never blindside you with unexpected fees.